• Why Standard Based Learning & Grading

    A standard based learning and grading system is designed to inform you about your child’s progress toward achieving specific learning standards. The State of Utah Learning Standards establish high and challenging expectations for all students. They describe what students should know and be able to do and serve as the basis for the Ecker Hill Middle School’s curriculum, instruction, and assessment model.  Standard based grading allows students to be more informed about what they are expected to learn and provides parents with a more detailed outline of their student’s growth and achievement than traditional grading systems.

    Proficiency Scores

    Proficiency scores (1-4) will replace letter grades and percentage scores. The proficiency scores are tied to descriptions of what the students know and are able to do. Teachers will provide feedback to students and your child will have opportunities to meet proficiency (3) on the standards. Final grades are determined based on the most recent evidence of student learning.  Students will receive separate grades for being ready, respectful and responsible in all classes.

    Proficiency Scale

    A proficiency scale from 1-4 indicates the level of mastery of individual standards for each student.  Some concepts and skills are more difficult than others to learn. A score of 1 or 2 while learning a new skill or concept is appropriate and not intended to be punitive. A score of 3 is the target, it shows proficiency and is to be celebrated! A score of 4 indicates a student has reached proficiency and applied knowledge beyond the grade-level standard.

    Standards Based Grading is on a scale from 1 to 4. 1 is beginning, 2 emerging, 3 is proficient with the standard, and 4 is advanced. Advanced means the student has gone beyond the standard.

    Standards Based Grading Compared to Traditional Letter Grades

    Standards Based Grading measures how well an individual student is doing in relation to the grade level standards, not the work of other students.  Letter or numerical grades are often calculated by teacher’s expectations, performance on assignments and tests, effort, student behavior and how the student is doing in comparison to classmates. Letter or numerical grades do not inform parents which grade level skills their child is currently working on and which they have mastered.

    IEP and 504 Plans

    There are modifications and accommodations for students with an IEP or 504 to support their progress in mastering grade-level standards as assessed using standard based learning.

  • EHMS Priority Standards

    Priority Standards are specific skills and/or knowledge identified as critical for a student's academic growth and success. The priority standards for all 6th and 7th grade courses are linked HERE.